Ten community consultative committees established for community hospitals
Search Icon Search Close Icon
Community based care 16 July 2019

Ten community consultative committees established for community hospitals

Local communities will have the chance to shape the care and services delivered by their community hospital with the establishment of 10 community consultative committees for the project.

Who sits on the community consultative committee?

The committees will be chaired by the local State Member of Parliament and will include:

  • 29 foundation members from key organisations such as local councils, health service providers and Aboriginal representation
  • 112 community members selected by an independent expression of interest process and a limited number of invited community members.

How were community members selected?

An expression of interest to join these committees opened on 12 March and closed on 23 April 2019 and was widely promoted through social media and other channels.

More than 640 expressions of interest were received for the ten community consultative committees.

An independent recruiter reviewed the responses and used a selection approach that considered a mix of age, gender and other demographic characteristics, as well as a cross-section of interests and community perspectives. This process aligns with the ethics and values of best practice engagement.

The final committees comprise of community members who submitted an expression of interest and/or have been invited to ensure diverse representation.

Want to see who sits on your local committee?

To find out the full list of committee members, please visit the dedicated project pages:

As the project progresses, there will be many opportunities for the broader community to be involved. To stay up-to-date, and for more information, visit the community hospitals program page.

Share this

Last updated: 13 January 2023