Celebrating the winners of our Public Healthcare Awards
Search Icon Search Close Icon
Ambulance branch 21 November 2019

Celebrating the winners of our Public Healthcare Awards

Victoria’s best health services, including Ambulance Victoria, have been honoured at the 15th Victorian Public Healthcare Awards.

The annual awards are a celebration of excellence in public healthcare. They reflect priority areas of care, and focus on driving change and improving health outcomes for Victorians.

Finalists demonstrated outstanding work across a range of health services and programs. They included digital hubs for mums with depression and anxiety, and an outreach program that uses a modified bus as a health clinic for youths.

The awards were judged by a panel of 71 experts from across the healthcare sector. Judges included chief executives, board members, patient advocates, researchers, clinicians, general managers, directors, program managers and service advisers.

The winners

The Premier’s Large Health Service of the Year winner was Ambulance Victoria. The health service was recognised for its outstanding performance and clinical outcomes that are among the best in Australia.

South West Healthcare won the Premier’s Medium Health Service of the Year award for its strong overall performance. The winner for Premier’s Small Health Service of the Year was Numurkah District Health Service. The health service boasts the highest staff flu vaccination rate in the state.

Banyule Community Health was awarded the Premier’s Primary Health Service of the Year for delivering a complex variety of services and supporting vulnerable communities.

Other award categories recognised excellence in the fields of:

  • mental health and wellbeing
  • aged care
  • maternal child and family health
  • culturally diverse health
  • women’s health
  • Aboriginal health
  • LGBTIQ health
  • clinical research
  • treatment of chronic and complex conditions
  • supporting healthy populations
  • improving health workforce wellbeing and safety.

View the full list of winners on the health.vic website.

Share this

Last updated: 21 November 2019